A Leadership Development Formula that Works!

Learn > Do > Assess

Gary A. DePaul, PhD (he/him/his)
5 min readNov 17, 2020

--

Image of mechanic training an apprentice
The author purchased the Image license from Shutterstock.

This is for anyone who manages people. Whether a VP, manager of managers, or a frontline supervisor, I want you to achieve the extraordinary.

I was just okay at practicing leadership

For sixteen years, I worked in corporate America. I started as an individual contributor developing training for auditors. As my career progressed, I managed project teams and soon founded and led a new training department. At company number four, I managed managers as well as a small documentation team. Throughout those years, I did okay, but I wouldn’t consider myself great at leading.

It wasn’t until I started studying leadership before I improved my leadership practices substantially.

I want to save you some time by offering a path for developing leadership practices. If you want to manage high-performing teams and work in a healthy culture, you need to be deliberate in how you lead.

Don’t do what I did: Learn-as-you-go ultimately hurts team productivity and growth

For most of my corporate career, I had little interest in learning leadership. I thought leading was something you figured out through experience, but I was…

--

--